HomeAfrican NewsRassie backs Kwagga to shine at No.8 as Wiese misses France test

Rassie backs Kwagga to shine at No.8 as Wiese misses France test


Related stories


  • SA Rugby director of rugby Rassie Erasmus said Kwagga Smith was the logical choice to replace Jasper Wiese at number eight for Saturday’s Test against France.
  • Wiese withdraws from matchday 23 due to a head injury evaluation protocol.
  • Deon Fourie was named as the replacement loose forward on the bench.

in Toulon

SA Rugby director of rugby Rassie Erasmus confirmed that Kwagga Smith was given the nod at number eight ahead of Evan Roos for Saturday’s Test against France in Marseille due to his “form and adaptability”.

Smith, who had an excellent second half against Ireland in Dublin last week, was drafted into the starting lineup after Jasper Wiese withdrew due to a concussion.

LIVE | On tour with the Springboks – late switch for SA as Smith set to start against France

Erasmus said Smith fills a number of baseline positions, and the same applies to Deon Fourie, who has been drafted off the bench to fill Smith’s spot.

“It’s a matter of opinion because Kwagga is also number eight and we have done well in the position,” Erasmus told reporters on Friday.

“When we train, he’s definitely our second choice eight. When Duane was involved and it was touch and ready for him, Kwagga covered the position.

“We were hoping that Jasper would be able to pass the criteria from a head injury assessment rule perspective and I think we were one of the first countries that were briefed on how to deal with the new protocol,” he continued.

“We were hoping it would happen because it looked really good, so with a late trade like this, a guy like Deon makes sense for us.

“He knows French culture and has played quite a bit against them.”



15 Tomas Ramos; 14 Damian Penaud, 13 Gael Fickou, 12 Jonathan Danty, 11 Yoram Moefana; 10 Romain Ntamack, 9 Antoine Dupont (captain); 8 Gregory Alldritt, 7 Charles Ollivon, 6 Anthony Jelonch; 5 Thibaud Flament, 4 Cameron Woki; 3 Uini Atonio, 2 Julien Marchand, 1 Cyril Baille

Substitutes: 16 Peato Mauvaka, 17 Reda Wardi, 18 Sipili Falatea, 19 Romain Taofifenua, 20 Bastien Chalureau, 21 Sekou Macalou, 22 Maxime Lucu, 23 Matthieu Jalibert

South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cheslin Kolbe, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Kwagga Smith, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain) , 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Ox Nche

Substitutes: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Steven Kitshoff, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 Marvin Orie, 20 Deon Fourie, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Manie Libbok, 23 Makazole Mapimpi

READ | Former Bok captain Krige implores SA to score tries to save kickers as ghosts of 2002 loom

Erasmus said Roos, who was the United Rugby Championship player of the season, has played well and will have a chance.

“Evan has been with us for a while and he deserves a chance somewhere,” Erasmus said.

“However, we must not forget how well Deon has played for the Stormers and has only had two Test caps.

“Fourie is also a realistic option to take to the World Cup next year with his ability to cover two positions, so we considered that.”

The start is at 22:00 (SA time).


- Never miss a story with notifications

- Gain full access to our premium content

- Browse free from up to 5 devices at once

Latest stories



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here